Looking Up

Things around here have been going a mile a minute, and today (thanks to a rather sweet, encouraging e-mail), I’ve been reminded how necessary it is to simply breathe. Now, when was the last time I did that? Oh, Lord knows. Between constant resume revisions, intimidating job applications, weekly internship articles and (of course)  heaping amounts of schoolwork, I can’t say I quite remember the last moment I had to just enjoy the day. Amidst living with such a go-go-go mindset, I’d lost the flaming fire behind my drive to succeed in the first place.

And then it dawned on me. Graduation is just a little more than two months away. Want to know my immediate thoughts upon realizing this earlier? “Umm, EXCUSE ME?! When did that happen! NO. No way. Calendar, you’re lying.” If that reaction doesn’t tell you a little about how much time has escaped me lately, then I don’t know what will.

Yet, despite the frantics involved with my status as a soon-to-be graduate, I think I’m finally ready to breathe a little. I’m ready to blog again for the first reason I started: to write, not to build my skill level. I’m ready to invest more in those who mean the most around me, and I’m ready to live each day with purpose and passion. I’m ready to craft those silly pins, and I’m ready to bake things I probably shouldn’t. Essentially, I’m just ready to love each and every day I’ve been blessed with, because it’s been too long. Remember that 101 in 1001 list I made a while back? Yeah, I’m ready to do THAT.

So, in proclaiming such bold statements, I’m here asking y’all to hold me accountable. Here I am, laying it all on the line (err…on a blog?) and leaving my comfort of scheduling my days and finishing those miniscule, unimportant tasks behind. There is a world of adventure and excitement out there–a world we were made to delight in.

You’re probably wondering what my point is behind such incessant rambling, so here it is: don’t wait. Do what you love TODAY.

I came across this little saying on Pinterest a while back, and though it might be slightly corny, I find it rather fitting for my new attitude, wouldn’t you agree? Have a lovely week, y’all!

2 thoughts on “Looking Up

  1. I love that photo! Also, whenever you’re in need of encouragement, this is a good source of it for me: Proverbs 19:21: “Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand.”

    So true, right? Sometimes I exhaust myself planning and unplanning things!

Leave a Reply

