Musical Likings

Happy Sunday everyone! Sigh, there’s nothing quite comparable to a cozy fall afternoon is there? As I sit in my favorite coffee shop with a warm cup of jo next to me, I thought it might be nice to change things up a bit from my normal stationery post to feature one of my other dear passions: music.

There’s a certain power behind the spoken word. Though I’m generally partial to the written alternative (clearly!), I must admit there lies an undeniable ability to capture an audience through oral speech. Whether it’s due to an ability to enforce fluctuating tones, or it’s just a result of emphasizing a particular thought through increased vocal depth, sometimes audibly hearing the heartbeat behind a particular human condition is wrenchingly beautiful in a way that it’s scribal counterpart simply can’t compete.

In my humble opinion, if speech must be vocalized, it’s often best achieved with the help of musical stylings. After all, if written with true passion, vocalized lyrics are essentially poetry set in motion…right? Yes, if I had it my way, life would be just like a movie where background music would follow us around, reflecting our moods and emotions in the most perfect way.

Now, I wouldn’t consider myself a music “snob,” by any means, but I must admit, if it’s an occasion where I’m in control of what is (and isn’t) played you better believe I won’t choose something off the Top 40. No sir, no ma’am. Not to offend any die-hard One Direction or Justin Bieber fans out there, but I have a bit of a hard time justifying lyrics that discuss pre-teen ideas of love when there are so many incredible, undiscovered artists pouring out their deepest curiosities and observations into songs that leave you ¬†absolutely breathless.

If you can’t tell after this little spiel, I adore finding new artists, and today I thought I would introduce a few of my favorites!

Oh, and I just thought I’d let y’all know I do listen to Top 40 artists when the time is fitting. Going out with friends on a Saturday night? Yeah…not exactly the time or place to explore my innermost thoughts! In this occasion, bring on the country and /or the Rihanna jams, and I’ll sing right along.

Currently listening to….

Elenowen- “My Head to My Heart”

The Oh Hello’s- “Lay Me Down”

City and Colour- “What Makes a Man”

The Magnolia Electric Co.- “Hold On Magnolia”

The Tallest Man on Earth- “Where Do My Bluebirds Fly”

The Staves- “Mexico”

Midlake- “Roscoe”

And finally, my favorite artist of the moment (one y’all might have heard of!): Bon Iver- “Towers”

Just click on the album cover to hear the song! Let me know what y’all think!

Leave a Reply

