Letting Go

This past weekend I’ve done a lot, and I mean a LOT, of talking with my parents and relatives about the future. I’ve been researching various job opportunities, looking at ways to amp up my resume and drafting cover letters to send out; yet, despite this preparation, all of the talk has left me feeling both anxious and a little nervous about what this future of mine might hold. Will I end up writing for a magazine? Will I be moving out of Texas? Will I even get an interview? Amidst all of the questions just like this running through my mind, I was reminded by a simple gesture today of how little control I have over the future. Whether I end up working as the newest Southern Living Editorial Assistant or I live my life as a missionary for the Kingdom, all of it is a part of my Creator’s plan. That’s just it. Every. single. bit.

What I need to work on is letting go of the reins. All my life I’ve been that quintessential, Type-A control freak who desires every detail of every day planned to absolute perfection. Sounds exhausting right? Now, I’m not saying my personality will necessarily change, or needs to change, but I think it’s high time I get what my father would call an “attitude adjustment.” I must submit myself to the ways and will of the Lord. No longer will I fear what lies ahead, and no longer will I try to manipulate where He steers me, fighting each step of the way.

And while I can make and set goals, I shouldn’t be disappointed when something larger than myself steers me away from accomplishing these goals. There is always a reason for every defeat and every loss, and as cliche as that may sound, I believe it to be 100-percent true. When I accepted Christ into my heart, I set out to live a purpose-driven life; a life full of sharing the Gospel and loving others. Humbly, I ask that y’all hold me accountable to this always.

I serve an incredibly mighty God, and I am thankful that He knows my needs beyond what I consider to be my needs. After all, who can argue with the Creator of the Universe? Not I, that’s for certain. So whatever this time may bring, I am learning to wholly trust that my footsteps are led somewhere great–somewhere that ultimately bring Him greater glory.

Wishing everyone a beautiful start to this wonderful week!

Trust in the Lord with all of your heart and lean not on your own understanding.
In all your ways submit to Him, and He will make your paths straight.

Proverbs 3:5-6

Leave a Reply

