One Year

Happy Tuesday! My apologies for the brief hiatus I took this weekend. Between getting ready for my upcoming trip (I leave Thursday!) and celebrating B and I’s first anniversary, life has been a little nuts!

I haven’t exactly explained why I’m going to San Diego, so I thought I might give a little information about it to those who are curious. While I’m only an intern this summer, my boss has graciously given me the chance to attend a media convention this coming weekend! What is a media convention, you ask? Well, essentially, it is a sponsored trip that invites respected journalists to enjoy the luxuries of a particular city, hotel, resort, restaurant, etc. with hopes that the journalist will write a promotional article on the visit in return. The trip will generally consist of the most revered restaurants, accommodations and activities. Wanna know the best part? It’s completely free! Now, normally, interns are not sent on these adventures because they are highly valuable and incredibly fantastic–something an editor themselves would want to attend! Needless to say, I’m very thankful and extremely blessed to attend this San Diego media convention. I’m sure it will be a whirlwind experience, especially considering I’ve never taken a big trip like this on my own before, but hopefully it will offer an opportunity to speak and network with other journalists. From what I’ve heard my trip agenda includes some horseback riding, yoga on the beach, stand-up paddle boarding and more, so be sure to check in and hear about all of the excitement!

As I mentioned, B and I celebrated our one year anniversary yesterday. This year we have had such an incredible time getting to know one another, and I am honestly in awe of how such a wonderful man has been placed in my life. Despite the distance between us during these past two semesters, the Lord has taught us so much about patience, trust, love and pursuit, and I can’t wait to see how He continues to work in our lives both separately and together.

For our date, B, being the gentleman he is, surprised me with a restaurant I had never been to before, and let me tell y’all, this place is Houston’s best kept secret! Hidden in small shopping center in the Memorial area, Jonathan’s The Rub is now hands down one of my favorite restaurants. B and I were joking that it may have made our list for what we would eat if it were our “last meal ever.” Not only is it BYOB (we enjoyed a few glasses of red dinner wine during our meal), but the waitstaff has a philosophy of team work, meaning you are not assigned a particular server. All evening we were catered to no matter what our needs, and everyone was extremely friendly!

Now, for the food. From the moment they brought the bread to the table, I knew I would love this place. Nearly everything they serve is seasoned with a bit of their secret rub. Now, I don’t quite know what is in this secret recipe of theirs, but all I can say is that it works, and it works well. While I wish I had a tidbit on what to order here, I’m fairly certain you can’t go wrong no matter what. All I can say is that you Houstonians, or any visitors, must try Jonathans!

I’ll share more tomorrow, but until then, what are some of your favorite restaurant gems?

Leave a Reply

