Texas Weddings Week 1!

My first week at Texas Weddings Magazine was a whirlwind to say the least! From the moment I walked in the door, I set to work. My first project was editing a cookbook created by my Editor and her husband, which they hope to giveaway at the largest bridal exposition in the country, the Bridal Extravaganza Show.

What is the Bridal Extravaganza Show you ask? Great question! While Texas Weddings Magazine is a quarter-annually published magazine available on most major newsstands in Texas, it’s publication largely serves as a guide for brides attending the Bridal Extravaganza show in Houston. My Chief Editor plans the event while simultaneously managing Texas Weddings and an additional magazine, H Texas. As you can see, she is quite an inspiration! Essentially the show allows our magazine to immediately circulate to both the 400 vendors participating,as well as every bride that walks through the door–how cool! For more information, feel free to check out the Bridal Extravaganza Show website. While the concept itself may be a bit complicated, I love the fact that I will get the chance to expand my horizons beyond editorial work into event planning and marketing!

Shortly after I submitted my edits for the cookbook (which, by the way, has some wonderful recipes), my boss graciously treated me to lunch at this adorable Italian restaurant in the area. Over a Chicken Parmesan Sandwich, I listened as she discussed in detail what my primary responsibilities would be for the summer, and boy was I thrilled! Two things in particular got my heart racing: a chance to be published and an opportunity to attend a “media convention” in San Diego…by myself! Wow!

Details on San Diego will come another day (gotta keep y’all on your toes!), but I am so excited to share that my first published article will appear in the upcoming July issue of Texas Weddings Magazine!! You better believe I fully intend on purchasing as many copies as I can, probably even framing one or two as a memorable keepsake. Though I would LOVE to share what I wrote about, you’ll just have to buy a copy and see for yourself! 😉

Other than that, the rest of my week included the start up of the Texas Weddings “Style Guide.” My Editor had the brilliant idea of beginning what many other publications have already started: a weekly email to faithful followers featuring the up-and-coming trends in weddings. Beyond my wildest expectations, she has put ME in charge of this for the summer! My brainstorming list continues to grow, and I’m finding that the task of narrowing down my topic to just one each week might prove a bit more challenging than I originally thought. Be sure to keep checking out my updates here!

All in all, this first week offered great expectations for the summer, so be sure to stay tuned and hear what happens in this crazy journey next!

Leave a Reply

